Active Commercial Lenders in 2026

This post is sponsored by

Active commercial lenders in 2026 are not who you think they are. The most expensive mistake a broker or borrower makes in 2026 is calling a lender based on reputation rather than recent activity.

Commercial real estate lending competition reached an all-time high in mid-2026, with a near-record number of distinct lenders active across all capital sources: banks, private credit funds, insurance companies, and family offices all competing to place capital simultaneously. That sounds like good news for borrowers. And it is, but only if you know which lenders are actually in the game right now, not which ones were active eighteen months ago and are still living off that reputation.

Big banks increased commercial real estate loan balances in Q2 2026, reversing years of retreat, but their participation is concentrated in data center and multifamily assets, while office remains less favored and lending standards are tighter than the headline activity numbers suggest. The active lender landscape is bifurcated: some lenders are open for business in specific asset types and markets, and closed in others. Getting that wrong wastes weeks you don’t have.

That’s what The Lender Draft’s September Lender Championship Tournament solves. Every lender in the bracket closed a deal last week. In this market. With real money, real deals, real borrowers. The tournament scores lenders based on actual closed deal data: deal size, complexity, markets, and structures. It ranks them by what they actually did, not what they say they can do.

Last week’s data covers 63 closed deals across three verticals. Here’s who advanced.


How We Identify Active Commercial Lenders 2026: The Tournament Methodology

The tournament runs every month across three verticals: Commercial Real Estate (CRE), Growth Capital (GC), and Asset-Based Lending (ABL). Each vertical fields 16 lenders, seeded by closed deal volume and deal significance from the prior week. Week 1 is the Round of 16, with 8 games per vertical and 24 total games. Winners advance to the quarterfinals next week.

The scoring is simple: closed deal data decides. If one lender closed a deal in their vertical and the other didn’t, the lender who closed advances. If both closed deals, the higher dollar amount or greater deal complexity wins. If neither closed a deal in that specific vertical, sector-specific macro signals for that vertical break the tie, and only those signals. A CRE macro signal cannot be used to break an ABL tie. The data stays in its lane.

This methodology matters because it’s the only ranking in commercial finance that is entirely backward-looking on actual execution rather than forward-looking on stated appetite.


$9.5 Billion Closed Last Week: What Active Commercial Lenders 2026 Actually Did

Before getting to the bracket results, here’s the deal volume context:

  • Commercial Real Estate: $4.85 billion, ranging from Goldman Sachs’s $650M national CMBS refinance to a $3.7M cash-out bridge in Paterson, NJ
  • Growth Capital: $4.57 billion, led by Bank of America’s $3B LNG revolving credit facility and OrbiMed’s $400M CRISPR royalty-backed credit
  • Asset-Based Lending: $93.9 million, from First Business Bank’s $24.4M multi-product ABL to a $500K factoring facility for a Washington State emergency response company

The total of roughly $9.5 billion is the domestic figure. International deals, including the ByteDance $29.6B AI syndication, the Aditya Birla $2.9B India renewables acquisition loan, and the SESA $900M Vaca Muerta pipeline project finance, push the week’s global deal volume past $41 billion. The bracket tracks domestic commercial lending across the three verticals; the international volume provides the macro backdrop.

Commercial real estate lending activity reached its highest level in five years in early 2026, driven by increased average loan sizes, more non-agency loans, and relatively stable spreads. The deal flow in last week’s batch reflects that. The CRE pipeline is active. The question is which lenders are actually participating.


Most Active Commercial Real Estate Lenders — August 2026

The CRE market in September 2026 is running two parallel tracks. Trophy and institutional-grade assets are clearing at scale with full lender competition. Distressed assets, now including data centers, industrial, retail, and hospitality alongside the legacy office and multifamily problems, are moving toward specialty credit managers. Everything in the middle is where lenders say they’re active but the closed deal data doesn’t always back it up.

An estimated $936 billion in commercial mortgages will mature in 2026, keeping lenders active while underwriting stays disciplined. That maturity wall means the refinancing pipeline is enormous, but not every lender has the appetite or the capital stack to handle every deal type. Last week’s tournament games reveal which lenders are positioned where.

Week 1 CRE Results

Goldman Sachs def. DBS Bank Goldman closed a $650M national CMBS refinance across 549 childcare properties in 37 states, the largest single CRE deal in the batch. DBS Bank had no closed US CRE deal in the data last week. This result highlights a key pattern in 2026 CRE: the lenders doing landmark volume are doing it in specialized structures such as CMBS, net-lease, and national portfolios that require institutional infrastructure most regional and foreign banks can’t match.

Truist Bank def. Credit Agricole Neither lender closed a CRE deal last week. The macro tiebreaker, CMBS volume pacing $140B nationally and higher-for-longer rates driving multifamily NOI, favors Truist’s active Southeast commercial real estate positioning over Credit Agricole’s thinner domestic presence. Tennessee, Georgia, and the Carolinas are generating deal flow that a European bank with limited US origination infrastructure can’t easily access.

New York Life def. PGIM Neither lender closed a CRE deal last week. The macro tiebreaker: institutional survey data confirms that real estate debt is outperforming equity on a risk-adjusted basis for the first time in this cycle. Insurance companies deploying policyholder premium capital into CRE debt are the structural beneficiaries of that shift. New York Life, as a mutual insurer deploying its own balance sheet, captures that tailwind more directly than PGIM, which manages third-party capital exposed to fund-level redemption dynamics.

Barclays def. Societe Generale Neither closed a CRE deal and the CRE macro is a wash between two European banks with comparable US exposure. The deciding factor: Barclays appeared in last week’s closed deal data in the Growth Capital vertical via the Venture Global $3B LNG syndicate, demonstrating an active US deal desk. Societe Generale was absent from the closed deal data across every vertical last week.

Fortress def. Morgan Stanley Neither lender closed a CRE deal last week. The CRE macro tiebreaker: $4.6 billion in new CRE distress hit in August across four asset classes simultaneously, including data centers, industrial, retail, and hospitality alongside the established office and multifamily stress. That environment is Fortress’s operating mandate as a distressed credit and special situations manager. For Morgan Stanley, CRE balance sheet distress is a problem to manage, not an origination channel. Fortress advances.

Nuveen def. Apollo Nuveen Green Capital closed three separate C-PACE deals last week totaling $233.8M: $172.5M for Shoma Bay in Miami, $44M for the Monroe Hotel in Miami Beach, and $17.3M in East Kensington Philadelphia. Apollo closed zero CRE deals in the raw data. Three deals in two states, no tiebreaker needed.

This result matters for a specific reason: C-PACE is no longer a supplemental financing tool in commercial real estate. Nuveen’s ability to write $172.5M as the sole C-PACE capital provider for a single luxury condo development confirms that C-PACE providers are now competing for the primary construction lender position on major Florida and Pennsylvania projects.

Wells Fargo def. JP Morgan Both closed Landmark CRE deals. Wells Fargo co-originated the $382.4M 120 Park Avenue office refinance in Midtown Manhattan, with the Bloomberg lease renewal through 2040 as the underwriting backbone. JPMorgan led the $340M Franklin CMBS refinance on a 2.5 million square foot Chicago office campus at 84% occupancy. Same deal significance tier, so the dollar amount tiebreaker decides. $382.4M beats $340M. Wells Fargo advances.

Both deals are significant signals for active CRE lenders: Manhattan Midtown office with investment-grade anchor tenants is fully refinanceable in 2026, and Class A Chicago office with demonstrable leasing velocity above 80% occupancy has reopened as a CMBS execution market.

Barings def. HSBC Neither lender closed a CRE deal last week. The macro tiebreaker: institutional allocator data showing real estate debt outperforming equity for the first time in this cycle favors Barings as a dedicated real estate debt and credit manager over HSBC’s generalist bank profile. Barings is structurally positioned to capture the capital rotation into CRE debt; HSBC’s CRE participation is a subset of a much broader institutional balance sheet.

CRE Advancing to Quarterfinals

Goldman Sachs, Truist Bank, New York Life, Barclays, Fortress, Nuveen, Wells Fargo, Barings

Week 2 CRE Matchups

Goldman Sachs vs. Truist Bank
New York Life vs. Barclays
Fortress vs. Nuveen
Wells Fargo vs. Barings

What the CRE Results Tell Active Lenders and Brokers

The non-obvious read from the CRE bracket: the same institutions that drove the CRE boom are now the ones sitting on the distressed assets, and they need a fundamentally different type of lender to solve it than the one who originated the loan. When $4.6 billion in distress hits four asset classes in a single month, the competitive advantage shifts to lenders whose credit mandate is built for assets the market has already repriced, not for assets everyone still hopes recover on their own.

For CRE brokers, the advancing lenders in the upper half of the bracket, including Goldman, Wells Fargo, JPMorgan, and Nuveen, are the calls for trophy and institutional-grade assets. The advancing lenders in the lower half, including Fortress, Barings, and New York Life, are the calls for distressed assets, value-add repositioning, and debt-over-equity structures. Those are different conversations with different lenders, and conflating them wastes time.

For CRE borrowers and sponsors, the week’s two office refinancings, Park Avenue and The Franklin Chicago, establish the clearest comps this cycle for what institutional CMBS execution requires in 2026: investment-grade anchor tenants in Manhattan, or 80%-plus occupancy with demonstrated recent leasing velocity in Chicago. If your asset is below those thresholds, you’re having a bridge loan conversation, not a CMBS conversation.


Growth Capital: Round of 16 Results – September Week 1 2026

The Growth Capital vertical last week was dominated by a single mega-deal: Bank of America’s $3 billion lead on Venture Global’s LNG revolving credit. That deal pulled nine of the sixteen bracket lenders into the same syndicate, which means much of the GC bracket was decided by secondary activity, specifically who else closed deals beyond the Venture Global participation.

Data center and multifamily sectors are drawing new capital in 2026, while the mega-syndication market for AI infrastructure and LNG is consuming significant bank origination bandwidth. That dynamic directly explains the Week 1 GC bracket results. The banks winning the billion-dollar syndicates are simultaneously ceding the mid-market direct lending space to specialty platforms.

Week 1 Growth Capital Results

JP Morgan def. U.S. Bank Both were in the Venture Global $3B syndicate, but JPMorgan also served as sole lead arranger and admin agent on Perma-Pipe’s $139M global revolving credit and term loan consolidation: two separate GC deals versus one syndicate participation. JP Morgan advances on deal count and lead arranger role.

Bank of America def. Truist Bank BofA was lead arranger, admin agent, and bookrunner on the highest-scoring domestic GC deal of the week, the Venture Global $3B LNG revolving credit. Truist Bank closed zero GC deals in the raw data. The result is clean: one lender showed up with a $3 billion lead mandate, the other didn’t show up at all.

PNC def. Credit Agricole Neither lender closed a GC deal last week. GC macro tiebreaker: the SEC’s move to open private markets to retail investors is the week’s most structurally significant GC policy event, expanding the addressable investor base for full-service commercial banks with wealth management and commercial lending capabilities simultaneously. PNC’s integrated platform captures that cross-sell opportunity more directly than Credit Agricole’s narrower US commercial footprint.

MUFG def. Citizens Bank MUFG participated in two separate GC deals last week: the Venture Global $3B LNG syndicate and the Digi International $350M IoT revolving credit refinance as joint lead arranger. Citizens Bank closed zero GC deals. Two deals versus zero.

Citigroup def. RBC Both were in the same Venture Global syndicate, so that’s a wash. Additional deal activity decides: Citi co-arranged the ByteDance $29.6B unsecured AI syndicated term loan, the largest technology company financing in history by deal size, and the SESA $900M Vaca Muerta pipeline project finance in Argentina. Three active deal desks running simultaneously versus one syndicate participation.

Monroe Capital def. Morgan Stanley Monroe Capital closed a confirmed senior credit facility supporting the Dealer Services Network leveraged buyout last week. Morgan Stanley closed zero GC deals as a direct lender in the raw data. A closed deal of any size beats no deal. This is the bracket working exactly as designed, and it’s also the most instructive result of the round. Monroe Capital is a specialty mid-market direct lender. Morgan Stanley is one of the most recognized names in global finance. Monroe advances because they actually closed something last week. Morgan Stanley didn’t.

Goldman Sachs def. ING Groep Both were in the Venture Global syndicate, so that’s a wash. Goldman also led the NRT/KinderCare $650M CMBS refinance in the CRE vertical, demonstrating an active deal desk running across two verticals simultaneously. ING’s activity ends at the Venture Global syndicate participation.

Wells Fargo def. KeyBank Wells Fargo was a named participant in the Venture Global $3B LNG RCF syndicate. KeyBank closed zero GC deals in the raw data.

CRE Advancing to Quarterfinals

JP Morgan, Bank of America, PNC, MUFG, Citigroup, Monroe Capital, Goldman Sachs, Wells Fargo

Week 2 Growth Capital Matchups

JP Morgan vs. Bank of America
PNC vs. MUFG
Citigroup vs. Monroe Capital
Goldman Sachs vs. Wells Fargo

What the GC Results Tell Active Lenders and Brokers

The non-obvious read from the Growth Capital bracket: the mega-syndication market is consuming so much bank origination bandwidth that mid-market direct lending, specifically the $25M to $100M LBO and growth credit space, is quietly being ceded to specialty platforms. The banks are winning the billion-dollar games while the mid-market moves elsewhere. Most market commentary hasn’t noticed yet because the headline deal volume is dominated by the mega-deals, not the segment where most brokers and borrowers actually operate.

Monroe Capital beating Morgan Stanley on a confirmed LBO close with no stated dollar amount is the clearest illustration of this dynamic. For growth capital brokers with PE clients in the lower and middle market, the advancing specialty platforms, with Monroe Capital as the Week 1 example, are the actionable relationships. The large banks advancing, including JP Morgan, BofA, and Goldman, are actively deploying in mega-cap syndications that are not accessible to most borrowers reading this.

For growth-stage borrowers and PE sponsors doing add-on acquisitions in the $10M to $100M range, the Week 1 results confirm that specialty direct lenders are the primary execution path, not the bulge-bracket banks competing for billion-dollar mandates. Knowing which specialty lenders closed a deal structurally similar to yours last week is worth more than knowing which banks showed up in a $3B syndicate.


Asset-Based Lending: Round of 16 Results – September Week 1 2026

The ABL vertical last week produced a genuinely unusual result: the majority of advancing lenders, including JP Morgan, Republic Business Credit, The Hedaya Capital, SouthStar Capital, and eCapital, did not close an ABL deal last week. They advanced on sector-specific macro tiebreakers. The lenders that actually closed ABL deals were nFusion Capital ($15M oil transport), First Business Bank ($24.4M Indiana packaging), JD Factors ($500K emergency response factoring), Rosenthal Capital Group (three separate deals), Legacy Corporate Lending ($40M seasonal ABL), and Celtic Capital ($1.49M auto transport).

This gap between who closed and who advanced on macro positioning is the most important signal in the entire bracket.

Asset-based lending turns accounts receivable, inventory, and equipment into a working capital line. ABL often operates through revolving credit facilities that adjust as collateral is used or replenished, offering liquidity that scales with the business. The lender opportunity in September 2026 is that 2,000-plus small businesses are currently in MCA restructuring, and most of them have real receivables and real revenue that qualify for legitimate ABL facilities they were never offered before.

Week 1 ABL Results

JP Morgan def. Mizuho Neither lender closed an ABL deal last week. ABL macro tiebreaker: the FDIC’s new deposit rule giving banks more room for uninsured business cash is a direct operational benefit for large bank ABL platforms. JP Morgan’s ABL platform is one of the largest in the US. It captures that regulatory tailwind and is positioned to absorb MCA-displaced borrowers through existing commercial banking relationships. Mizuho’s domestic ABL presence doesn’t match that scale or that specific regulatory advantage.

nFusion Capital def. Porter Capital nFusion Capital closed a confirmed $15M ABL facility for a Houston-based oil transport company: 60 days from term sheet, accordion to $30M, via a bank referral after the incumbent bank reduced its energy sector exposure. Porter Capital closed zero ABL deals in the raw data. This is the referral model working in real time. When banks pull back from energy and transportation sector concentration, the flow goes to specialty ABL lenders who are ready to move.

Republic Business Credit def. Gateway Trade Funding Neither lender closed an ABL deal last week. ABL macro tiebreaker: 2,000-plus businesses seeking restructuring specifically because of MCA distress is the dominant ABL market signal this week. Republic Business Credit is an AR and inventory ABL specialist designed for exactly the borrower profile migrating out of MCA. Gateway Trade Funding specializes in international trade finance, a narrower product that captures less of the domestic MCA displacement flow.

The Hedaya Capital def. Blue Owl Capital Neither lender closed an ABL deal in the raw data. Blue Owl’s $2.4B AI equipment financing deal appears in the Growth Capital and Article Index data. It is not in the ABL raw deal data rows and is not credited to the ABL bracket. ABL macro tiebreaker: ISM Manufacturing PMI at 54.6% for eight consecutive months of new orders expansion is the strongest positive manufacturing signal of 2026. The Hedaya Capital’s small-to-mid-size manufacturer ABL focus is directly aligned with that signal. Blue Owl’s large-format institutional credit operations are not.

SouthStar Capital def. Goldman Sachs Neither lender closed an ABL deal in the raw data. Goldman’s KinderCare $650M CMBS is a CRE deal. It does not cross into the ABL bracket. ABL macro tiebreaker: MCA distress displacing 2,000-plus small businesses favors SouthStar Capital’s factoring and ABL platform, which is built for that exact borrower segment, over Goldman’s institutional ABL operations, which are not.

JD Factors def. Sallyport Commercial JD Factors closed a confirmed factoring facility for an emergency response company in Washington State, a brand new borrower sector in the corpus with an active geographic signal. Sallyport Commercial closed zero ABL deals in the raw data. A closed deal beats no deal.

First Business Bank def. Garrington Capital First Business Bank closed a $24.4M multi-product ABL facility for an Indiana industrial packaging manufacturer: an accounts receivable line, an equipment term loan, and a real estate term loan in a single facility, financing expansion to a sixth operating state. This is exactly the kind of multi-product community bank ABL that manufacturers in the $10M to $50M revenue range need and that larger platforms often won’t touch. Garrington Capital had zero ABL deals in the raw data.

eCapital def. Apollo Neither lender closed an ABL deal last week. ABL macro tiebreaker: MCA distress creating 2,000-plus displaced small businesses with real receivables and real revenue maps directly to eCapital’s factoring and ABL platform. Apollo’s credit activities operate at the large-format institutional level, not the primary competitive space for MCA-displaced small businesses.

ABL Advancing to Quarterfinals

JP Morgan, nFusion Capital, Republic Business Credit, The Hedaya Capital, SouthStar Capital, JD Factors, First Business Bank, eCapital

Week 2 ABL Matchups

JP Morgan vs. nFusion Capital
Republic Business Credit vs. The Hedaya Capital
SouthStar Capital vs. JD Factors
First Business Bank vs. eCapital

What the ABL Results Tell Active Lenders and Brokers

The non-obvious read from the ABL bracket: MCA distress isn’t a borrower problem. It’s the single largest lender opportunity in the ABL vertical right now. When 2,000-plus businesses are actively seeking restructuring from MCA arrangements, that’s 2,000-plus companies with real revenue and real receivables who are suddenly in the market for a legitimate ABL relationship they were never offered before. The lenders advancing on that macro signal aren’t waiting for those businesses to find them. The ones who move first own those client relationships for the next credit cycle.

For ABL brokers, the most actionable result from Week 1 is nFusion Capital’s win over Porter Capital. The bank-referral-to-specialty-ABL pipeline is active in energy and transportation in Houston right now. If your ABL clients are in sectors where banks are reducing concentration, including energy, transportation, and manufacturing, the call to make is to the specialty ABL shops who are actively taking those referrals, not the banks who are generating them.

For ABL borrowers, particularly manufacturers with growing order books and advance rates that haven’t been updated since 2024, the ISM Manufacturing PMI signal in the bracket tiebreaker data is directly relevant to your borrowing base conversation. Eight consecutive months of new orders expansion is the data foundation for asking your ABL lender to revisit your advance rate on finished goods inventory. The lenders advancing in the bracket on that macro signal are positioned to have that conversation today.


Winners and Losers by Vertical — What This Means for Your Market

Commercial Real Estate — Who’s Winning and Who’s Not

Winning right now:

Office borrowers in Midtown Manhattan with investment-grade anchor tenants: the Park Avenue refinance confirmed that CMBS execution is available at $382M for the right asset

C-PACE borrowers in Florida developing projects above $50M: Nuveen’s three closings confirmed C-PACE as a primary capital stack component, not a supplemental one

Construction lenders covering Journal Square in Jersey City: a $390M Affinius and BH3 construction facility confirmed this submarket as institutional-grade

Losing right now:

Transit-oriented development lenders with Brightline corridor exposure in South Florida: model Chapter 11 scenarios on land values before someone asks you to at a board meeting

Data center construction lenders in Northern Virginia: the $100B Blackstone/Brookfield project killed by community opposition added a new underwriting risk item to every Virginia data center deal

Office borrowers in Los Angeles who acquired at 2017 prices: the Torrance refinancing implies significant equity erosion against the prior $106.7M acquisition price

Growth Capital — Who’s Winning and Who’s Not

Winning right now:

Energy project finance lenders with LNG infrastructure experience: the Venture Global $3B mandate confirmed US LNG export capacity as one of the most consistently active large-ticket GC pipelines in this cycle

AI infrastructure lenders who built dedicated equipment finance products: Blue Owl’s $2.4B compute financing for IREN set the landmark comp for a category that is now institutional

Growth capital brokers in the Southwest covering PE add-on acquisitions in the $10M to $50M range: Monroe Capital confirmed they go sole lead, sole admin, and equity co-investor on lower-middle-market LBOs

Losing right now:

Private credit fund managers with BDC structures: Blackstone BCRED absorbed 10% redemption notices on a $43B fund, and the structural stress inflection is confirmed from both rating agency and press data simultaneously

US lenders with correspondent banking relationships touching Egyptian, Emirati, or Gulf financial institutions: the FinCEN Banque Misr proposed blacklisting expanded secondary sanctions to a category most compliance teams weren’t watching

Nonbank lenders providing credit to proprietary trading firms: JPMorgan’s withdrawal of credit from Jane Street signals that bank-to-nonbank credit relationships now carry conflict-of-interest risk that requires immediate assessment

Asset-Based Lending — Who’s Winning and Who’s Not

Winning right now:

ABL lenders covering energy and transportation in Houston, Texas: nFusion’s bank-referral close confirmed the pipeline is active and growing as banks reduce sector concentration

Factoring companies and AR-based ABL lenders nationally: 2,000-plus businesses in MCA restructuring represent the cleanest displacement demand signal in years

Agricultural ABL lenders: DLL’s $626M ABS confirmed the agricultural equipment securitization market is functioning normally despite broader economic uncertainty

Losing right now:

ABL lenders with revolving facilities to trucking, food distribution, and logistics clients: diesel at $5.78/gallon approaching the all-time record requires immediate borrowing base audit review, not quarter-end review

California factors, commercial finance companies, and MCA providers: AB 2116’s commercial financing licensing requirements need a legal review before the end of the quarter

Private credit brokers who placed capital with Location Ventures through Rishi Kapoor’s network: his 11-year federal sentence for $89M fraud means a full exposure review is required this week


Industry Vertical Intel: Manufacturing, Healthcare, Staffing & Transportation

Manufacturing

What closed in last week: Wingspire Capital ($45M unitranche, metal surface finishing), Legacy Corporate Lending ($40M ABL revolving credit, seasonal consumer goods), First Business Bank ($24.4M multi-product ABL, Indiana industrial packaging), and TradeCap Partners ($500K PO finance, safety products).

The opportunity and risk right now: The ISM Manufacturing PMI hit 54.6% in August 2026, marking eight consecutive months of new orders expansion. This is the strongest positive manufacturing signal in years. ABL lenders covering manufacturers should be revisiting forward-looking advance rate assumptions on finished goods inventory for clients with documented order flow. The tariff distress offset remains: JPMorgan data shows midsize firm tariff costs remain double pre-2025 levels, compressing margins for any manufacturer with imported materials.

Healthcare

What closed in last week: OrbiMed Royalty and Credit Opportunities V (Intellia $400M), Goldman Sachs (NRT/KinderCare $650M), JD Factors ($500K emergency response factoring in Washington State), and AOM Capital Group ($3.8M healthcare receivables bridge in the Northeast).

The opportunity right now: OrbiMed’s $400M CRISPR royalty-backed credit closed September 4 and created a credit product for in vivo gene editing that didn’t exist before at this scale. The Goldman Sachs KinderCare $650M CMBS is the watch item: closed with 2x NOI debt service coverage while the operator’s stock has lost half its value and enrollment is declining. The separation of real estate credit math from operator performance health is the lesson.

Transportation

What closed in last week: nFusion Capital ($15M oil transport ABL in Houston via bank referral), Celtic Capital ($1.49M auto transport in the Pacific Northwest), and InterNex Capital ($4M logistics AR revolver in New York). Brightline’s Chapter 11 is the separate CRE transportation signal: lenders with transit-oriented development exposure along the South Florida corridor need to model the restructuring impact on land values before it becomes a board agenda item.

The distress and opportunity right now: Diesel at $5.78 per gallon is approaching the all-time record of $5.82. Oil is above $90. The Iran war is in its seventh month with no resolution timeline. ABL lenders with revolving credit facilities to trucking, food distribution, and logistics clients should run borrowing base audits now. The bank pullback from energy and transportation sector concentration is generating active referral flow to specialty ABL lenders like nFusion Capital.


The Rich Get Richer — Consolidation Moves That Change the Market

Three consolidation and expansion events from August that will change who’s on the other end of your next financing call:

Wafra acquires Navitas Credit Corp at roughly $2B. A $30B sovereign-backed alternative asset manager bought a national equipment finance company from United Community Banks. This tells every independent equipment finance company their exit floor and exactly who is buying. The consolidation of the ABL and equipment finance sector is on a schedule.

Aon acquires USI Insurance Services from KKR at $17B. The largest insurance services transaction in years confirmed that middle-market insurance brokerage now commands mega-PE valuations. For commercial finance professionals, this signals that insurance as a credit-adjacent business is being repriced upward across the board.

Solifi acquires Inovatec Systems. A global secured finance technology platform bought the leading cloud lending origination system for captive finance and credit unions. The lenders still running legacy ABL origination infrastructure just had the window for a comfortable technology upgrade close a little further.


Didn’t See That Coming: Three Market Surprises

Miami’s most “connected” developer got 11 years. His investors are still figuring out what’s left.

Rishi Kapoor, founder of Location Ventures, received an 11-plus year federal sentence for an $89 million fraud and money laundering scheme. Every private credit broker who placed capital into his network and hasn’t run a full exposure review yet is operating on borrowed time. The fraud pattern, new investor money covering prior gaps, is the oldest structure in the book, and the Miami real estate market’s reputation for “connected” operators created cover for it to run longer than it should have.

Two California hard-money lenders got caught running a Ponzi-like scheme. They called it a fund.

Pacific Private Money Group’s principals, Hanf and Phan, now face SEC fraud charges and bankruptcy after misappropriating more than $7 million from investors. The broader implication: hard-money lending funds that operate without audited financials and third-party fund administrators are a single bad quarter away from this headline. Every broker who has placed capital with a private lending fund that can’t produce audited financial statements should be asking why not.

High-yield spreads are at 275 to 285 basis points. The private credit market says that’s wrong.

The corporate default paradox in last week’s article data: public credit markets are pricing near-historic tightness while floating-rate lower-middle-market LBO borrowers face a rate environment that materially worsens every time the Fed opens its mouth. The September rate hike odds hit 70% last week. Someone is mispricing this, and historically it isn’t the borrowers who figure it out first.


Most Valuable Lender of the Week

OrbiMed Royalty and Credit Opportunities V

Deal: Intellia Therapeutics, $400M Royalty-Backed Senior Secured Credit Facility
Location: Cambridge, MA
Vertical: Growth Capital and Life Sciences

OrbiMed wrote a $400 million credit facility for a company with no revenue, no approved product, and a single Phase 3 clinical trial as its primary asset. The collateral is a royalty stream that doesn’t exist yet. They priced the credit against the probability-weighted present value of future royalties from a CRISPR gene-editing therapy for hereditary angioedema, modeled the Phase 3 enrollment curve, and structured milestone-based drawdowns.

This deal fills a gap that has existed since CRISPR moved from laboratory tool to clinical platform: there was no established credit product for gene editing programs between Series D equity and post-approval commercial lending. OrbiMed just built one at $400M scale.

Lending Parameters

ParameterDetail
Who They Lend ToPre-revenue and commercial-stage life sciences companies with Phase 2+ clinical programs and credible royalty models, covering gene editing, gene therapy, cell therapy, and rare disease
Loan PurposeClinical trial funding, technology maturation, pipeline advancement, and working capital for pre-commercial biotech
Facility TypeRoyalty-backed senior secured credit facility with milestone-based drawdowns
Loan SizeUp to $400M confirmed via the Intellia close; verify directly with OrbiMed for current parameters
LTV and Advance RateStructured against probability-weighted royalty stream, not asset-based; verify directly with OrbiMed
PricingNot publicly disclosed; verify directly with OrbiMed
TermNot publicly disclosed; verify directly with OrbiMed
Collateral and SecurityRoyalty streams from licensed IP and commercial rights; not traditional hard collateral
GeographiesUS-focused; Cambridge MA confirmed; national capability
Track Record$400M Intellia close is the largest confirmed in vivo gene editing credit facility on record

Why This Matters Right Now: There has been no established credit product for gene editing programs between Series D equity and post-approval commercial lending. OrbiMed just built one at $400M scale. Every clinical-stage biotech currently burning equity to fund Phase 3 trials now has a data point that a non-dilutive alternative exists and has been executed.

Broker Angle: If you represent late-stage biotech clients with a Phase 3 timeline and a credible royalty model, OrbiMed is the call you make. They confirmed last week that they will write nine-figure checks against future royalty streams with no revenue requirement. This deal type is outside most commercial finance brokers’ current practice, which means the brokers who learn it first own the client relationship when biotech CFOs start asking.

Borrower Angle: If you’re a clinical-stage biotech funding Phase 3 through dilutive equity rounds, the Intellia deal is the comp you take to your board. $400M in non-dilutive credit structured against royalties that don’t exist yet is now a proven structure. You need a credible trial timeline and a royalty model that can be independently underwritten. If you have both, the alternative to giving up equity at your lowest pre-commercial valuation is larger than you’ve been told.

How to Use This Data as a Broker or Borrower

If you are a commercial real estate broker: The CRE bracket advancing lenders represent two distinct call lists. Goldman, Wells Fargo, and Nuveen are institutional-scale closers working in CMBS, office refinance, and C-PACE respectively. Match your deal profile to their qualifying comps. Fortress and Barings are the calls for distressed assets and real estate debt structures. Truist and New York Life are the calls for value-add multifamily and real estate debt in Sun Belt markets.

If you are a commercial real estate borrower or developer: The two office refinancings in last week’s data establish 2026 underwriting standards for CMBS execution. That means investment-grade anchor tenants in Midtown Manhattan, or 80%-plus occupancy with documented leasing velocity in Chicago. Below those thresholds, you are in bridge loan territory. Above them, you are in CMBS territory, and the data says both Goldman and JPMorgan are executing.

If you are a growth capital broker: The GC bracket tells you the mid-market direct lending space is moving to specialty platforms. Monroe Capital beating Morgan Stanley with a confirmed LBO close is the signal. Your $25M to $100M PE sponsor clients should be talking to specialty direct lenders, not bulge-bracket banks competing for billion-dollar syndications.

If you are an ABL broker: The single most actionable data point from last week is the MCA distress signal: 2,000-plus businesses in restructuring with real receivables and real revenue who have never been offered a legitimate ABL facility. Republic Business Credit, SouthStar Capital, and eCapital advanced in the bracket precisely because their product sets map to this displacement demand. These are the calls to make for that client profile.


Frequently Asked Questions

Who are the most active commercial real estate lenders in 2026? Based on last week’s closed deal data, the most active CRE lenders include Goldman Sachs (national CMBS), Wells Fargo (office refinance), JPMorgan (CMBS), and Nuveen Green Capital (C-PACE construction). Activity is concentrated in CMBS for stabilized institutional assets and C-PACE for new construction in Florida and Pennsylvania. Bridge lenders are active across multifamily, office-to-residential conversions, and industrial.

What is asset-based lending and which ABL lenders are active right now? Asset-based lending uses collateral such as accounts receivable, inventory, and equipment to secure a line of credit or term loan. Active ABL lenders closing deals last week include nFusion Capital (Houston energy and transportation sector), First Business Bank (Indiana manufacturing), JD Factors (Pacific Northwest factoring), and Rosenthal Capital Group (California and Colorado CPG and consumer products). The MCA distress displacement is creating significant new demand for legitimate ABL facilities nationally.

How do I find an active commercial lender for my deal in 2026? The most reliable method is to look at who actually closed a deal structurally similar to yours in the past 30 days, not who says they’re active. The Lender Draft’s weekly deal tracking and September Championship Tournament bracket identify active lenders by closed deal data across CRE, Growth Capital, and ABL. For direct introductions to active lenders, contact deals@thelenderdraft.com.

What is C-PACE financing and which lenders offer it in 2026? C-PACE (Commercial Property Assessed Clean Energy) is a financing structure that funds energy efficiency, green building, and property improvements through a property tax assessment. It sits senior to the mortgage in most jurisdictions and can replace or supplement conventional construction lending. Nuveen Green Capital is the most active C-PACE lender in last week’s data, closing three deals totaling $233.8M across Miami, Miami Beach, and Philadelphia. C-PACE is now functioning as a primary construction capital source, not a supplemental one, on projects above $50M in Florida and Pennsylvania.


Find an Active Commercial Lender for Your Deal Right Now

Active deployment cities from August 2026: New York City, Miami, Chicago, Philadelphia, Houston, West Palm Beach, Jersey City, Salt Lake City

Looking for a direct lender introduction? The Lender Draft has tracked over 9,000 verified transactions across more than 1,500 active lenders in CRE, Growth Capital, and ABL. If you’re looking at a deal right now and need to connect directly with the right lender, reach out:

📩 deals@thelenderdraft.com

See this month’s full active lender rankings:


The Lender Draft is the only platform that ranks active commercial lenders by verified closed deal volume — updated every Monday across CRE, Growth Capital, and ABL. Rankings updated every Monday. thelenderdraft.com

© 2026 The Lender Draft | thelenderdraft

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top